

For immediate release

## New Members Elected

BETHESDA — The National Council on Radiation Protection and Measurements (NCRP) elected seven new members and seven returning members to Council. The election results were reported at the 50th NCRP Annual Business Meeting on March 11, which was held in conjunction with the 2014 NCRP Annual Meeting on the topic of NCRP: Achievements of the Past 50 Years and Addressing the Needs of the Future.

NCRP was chartered by Congress in 1964 under Public Law 88-376 to serve as a nonprofit organization that represents a national resource on topics related to radiation protection and radiation quantities, units and measurements. NCRP's mission is to formulate and widely disseminate information, guidance and recommendations on radiation protection and measurements which represent the consensus of leading scientific thinking. The Council's mission also encompasses the responsibility to facilitate and stimulate cooperation among organizations concerned with the scientific and related aspects of radiation protection and measurements.

There are 100 elected members of the Council, who are recognized as leaders in many scientific fields of relevance to radiation protection and measurements in medicine, homeland security, environmental protection, nuclear technology, and public and occupational radiation exposures. Additional information about NCRP is available online at <a href="http://NCRPonline.org">http://NCRPonline.org</a>.

The newly elected members of Council and their affiliations are:

Judith L. Bader

U.S. Department of Health & Human Services

Michael Boyd

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Joseph R. Dynlacht

Indiana University School of Medicine

Helen A. Grogan

Kathryn A. Higley

Michael D. Story

Lipiversity of Texas

Michael D. Story University of Texas

Cary Zeitlin Southwest Research Institute

Members of Council who were re-elected to another six-year term on Council are:

Jerrold T. Bushberg Anthony J. Seibert
Mary E. Clark Robert C. Whitcomb
William F. Morgan George X. Xu
Stephen V. Musolino Craig R. Yoder
Bruce A. Napier

The National Council on Radiation Protection and Measurements

7910 Woodmont Avenue, Suite 400 Bethesda, Maryland 20814-3095 Telephone: (301) 657-2652 Fax: (301) 907-8768

http://NCRPonline.org http://NCRPpublications.org The following individuals were elected as Distinguished Emeritus Members in recognition of their outstanding contributions to NCRP's scientific program:

Paul M. DeLuca Carl J. Paperiello John R. Frazier Daniel J. Strom

## Elected Officers were:

President John D. Boice, Jr.
Senior Vice President Jerrold T. Bushberg
Secretary / Treasurer James R. Cassata

## Elected to the Board of Directors:

Jerrold T. Bushberg, Chairman
Jonine L. Bernstein
John D. Boice, Jr.
James A. Brink
Lawrence T. Dauer
Donald P. Frush
William F. Morgan
Bruce A. Napier
Kathryn H. Pryor
Richard E. Toohey
Gayle E. Woloschak
William E. Kennedy, Jr.

The President and Senior Vice President are automatically Directors.

For additional information contact NCRP Executive Director, James R. Cassata, PhD, CHP at <a href="mailto:cassata@NCRPonline.org">cassata@NCRPonline.org</a>, 301-657-2652 (x20) or 301-907-8768 (fax).